Library cards are available without additional charge to Cedar Park residents inside the taxing district or in areas with interlocal agreements by presenting photo ID and proof of current address at the Cedar Park Public Library (located here). Resident cards expire every two years. Non-residents may purchase a library card for $35.00 for one year, $20.00 for six months, or $10.00 for three months. Parents and legal guardians may obtain a Juvenile membership, either resident or non-resident, for children ages 0 to 17. Parents and legal guardians take responsibility for the care of any materials borrowed on their child’s card and for determining the appropriateness of content.
You are responsible for all materials checked out or “charged” on your card. If your card is lost or stolen, please notify the Library immediately. Replacement cards are available for $1.00.Library Card Application 2016 en Español
The TexShare card allows you to visit and borrow materials from participating libraries around the state. To apply for a TexShare card you must have had a Cedar Park Public Library card for at least 90 days, have no fines or overdue materials, and must present your library card and valid photo ID. If you have a library card and a TexShare card in good standing issued by another library, you may apply for TexShare privileges from the Cedar Park Public Library free of charge. You must present your TexShare card, a library card from the library that issued the TexShare card, valid photo ID and proof of current address. Patrons with TexShare privileges from Travis/Williamson County may check out up to 10 items at one time. Patrons with TexShare privileges from other Texas counties are limited to two items at one time. For more information, visit the Texas State Library website.
Borrowing Limits and Loan Periods
You must present your library card or photo ID each time you check out materials. Accounts with fines totaling more than $10.00 will be blocked from checking out materials.
| Books & Magazines
|| Music CDs
|| books on CD
|| Book Club to Go Kits
|Number of Items - Resident/Non-Resident
| Number of Items - TexShare Williamson/Travis County
| Number of Items - TexShare Other
| Loan Period
|| 3 weeks
|| 3 weeks
|| 3 weeks
|| 1 week
|| 3 weeks
|| 3 hours
|| 4 weeks
You may renew most materials up to three consecutive times as long as no holds have been placed on that item and your account is not blocked. e-Readers have one renewal.
You may place up to ten holds at a time. Holds may only be placed on items that are currently checked out. Once a hold becomes available, you have five days to pick up the item. A courtesy notification will be sent when the item becomes available, but is not guaranteed. You may also check your account online or over the phone to see if a hold is available.
You can borrow items from libraries around the country using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Items are picked up from and returned to the Cedar Park Public Library. There is a $3.50 fee, due at the time of pick-up, to cover the cost of shipping the item back to the lending library. You can request an Interlibrary Loan in person at the Library or by phone at 512-401-5608. A user in good standing may have three active ILL requests at one time.
Please note that:
- ILL availability and shipping times are not guaranteed.
- ILL checkout times are dependent upon the lending library's loan period.
- The patron will be responsible for any fees incurred from the use of an ILL, including damage or replacement, according to the lending library.
- All ILL materials are subject to an overdue fine of $0.50 per day.
You are responsible for loss of or any damage to library materials checked out on your library card. The fee schedule for overdue, lost, or damaged materials is as follows:
|Materials|| Grace Period
|| Overdue Fines
|Books|| 3 days
||$0.25/day|| Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) or
$30.00 for hardback,
$8.00 for paperback
|Magazines|| 3 days
| Music CDs
||None||$0.25/day|| MSRP or $8.00
|DVDs||None||$0.25/day|| MSRP or $20.00
||$2.00/day|| MSRP for item and all accessories
|Laptops|| 30 minutes
||$2.00/hour|| MSRP for item and all accessories
| Book Club to Go Kits
||None||$0.25/day|| MSRP for each item and $8.00 for container
| Interlibrary Loan
||None||$0.50/day|| Per lending library
*an additional $5 processing fee is applied to the replacement cost of lost or damaged materials
Please be advised the City of Cedar Park Ordinance 1.09.002 states, it is unlawful to retain library material after notice that the material is overdue. Failure to return the materials and pay the fines may result in your library account being sent to an independent collection agency.
Paying a Library Fine
The Library offers several payment options:
- Payment in person at 550 Discovery Blvd. with cash, check, or VISA/Mastercard
- Payment by mail with cash or check to Cedar Park Public Library, 500 Discovery Blvd., Cedar Park, TX, 78613
Important Details If Your Account Has Gone To Collections
If you have a Library account that has been referred to Credit Systems International Inc (CSII), library staff are able to take payment on the account in person at the Library. You may also contact CSII directly at (800) 316-8064 or www.paycsitoday.com.